Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2002-12-09 - 2:40 a.m.

He's Not Just A Cat, He's My Kid

Sometimes I am amazed at people's intolerances and ingorances. The other day (Actually the next day after the Colon Boy coversation) two ladies were having a quiet discussion during a break in the afternoon bingo session. They called me over to ask about a guy who was sitting near the concession who hadn't been playing bingo but was just sitting there watching. I think the one lady was concerned that the guy was up to no good cause he was just watching everything. I shook my head in complete bewilderment and said "Uhm, He's working downstairs with the construction crew. I think he's up here waiting for his lunch to be made in the concession." Now, He'd been upstairs a few times with the various other construction guys over the past few days but this was the first afternoon he had come up by himself. The reason, I think, the one lady was concerned about this guy was because he's black. The thought that THAT was why she was worried just was unbelieveable. The city I live in is a small city but we have a pretty diverse population a lot of natives, white, and asian people. Black people aren't so populus here but that's no reason to be sterotyping the one you see. Good god. Maybe it's because these old laides grew up in different era where stereotypes and racial prejudices ran high (Not that they're much better today) but that really doesn't make that kind of thinking acceptable. Anyway, That really bothered me and that's why I mentioned it here.

Well, I worked all day Saturday doing Bingo and DJ'n. I told myself since I surived that I could sleep my sunday away right up until I had to leave for work and not feel the least bit guilty about it because I'd put the time to deserve that kind of sleep. The only problem was I couldn't sleep. I had good reason why I couldn't sleep. My oldest cat had been missing for two days by then. I had let him out Friday morning (he was meowin' up a storm to go outside) and he didn't return by the time I had to go to work not a big deal I'd let him in when I got home. He never came back Friday night. Saturday morning I kept watching the windows for him but I finally had to go to work. I figured he'd mooched himself into someone's home and was being fed and was sleeping around there. At least I tried to keep reassuring myself of that. Anyway, I caught a couple of hours in there somewhere. At around 3pm there was a scratch at my window. It was Tigger. His eyes frantic and he meowed his scared "Let me IN!" meow. I went around to the sliding glass door and opened it up. He shot around the corner and something didn't look right when he was running. He came in the door and immediately laid down. Not a typical "Flash" move so I kneeled down to investigate. His left back paw was swollen and he was obviously laying on his other side not to put weight on it. My heart sank cause I hadn't been around and I was wondering how long he'd been outside hurt and dammit now it was Sunday and doubtful any Vet would be open. I immediately called Veronica to do a "am I just a freaking out Pet Owner or should I take him in" she agreed and she was noticeably concerned for Tigger. I phoned around and by fluke one of the Vet offices was actually open and had open appointments. Not that I wouldn't have paid for him to have emergency services but finding a Vet that was open would definitely make things a little cheaper. I found a big box (Flash is 19lbs which I found out when they weighed him) so that I wouldn't have to try and force him into the cardboard kennel box I have for him since I didn't know if his leg was fractured or what at that point. He was pretty good about letting me put him in the box and we took off for the Vets.

When I arrived I had to fill out some paperwork. The reception girl was wide-eyed at the size of my cat. She was friendly though and even came over to pet him after I had finished filling out the paperwork and had gone and sat down to wait for our turn to go into see the Vet. The whole seeing the Vet went smoothly and she said that she didn't want to rush into doing X-rays because she didn't think anything was broken. What I hadn't noticed until we got into the Vet's exam room was that Flash had a bite mark on his foot. So, She figured he'd been in a fight and got bit and that caused the swelling.

She put him on the floor and made him walk to me (he's good about that almost like a dog) he wasn't putting any weight on the foot at all. She prescribed some Antibotics and some anti-inflammtory medicine and sent us on our way. So I hope that's all that's wrong but she said to watch him and see how the next few days go and that the antibotic should kick in pretty quick.

Total Monetary Setback $117. In my hurry to leave the house I forgot to take money with me. I had to split the bill across two of my debit cards cause I'd pretty much depleted those paying bills and rent. It was a touch embarassing but I really didn't care much since I just glad the Vet had told me things should be okay. Although this does mean I have to get up tomorrow and put money in one of the accounts just to make sure my auto-insurance payment doesn't bounce. THAT would suck.

So we came home. It was 4pm. I had to leave for work no later than 5:30pm. Now, I was exhausted. I laid down on the couch and set my cell phone alarm for 5pm. I woke up and it was dark. Ut oh! Flicked the light on my watch 6pm.

That's the time I start work. I sat up quickly (Yes, I swore) and dialed work on my Cell since it's programmed in. I told them I just woke up and I was on my way and that I would be there before the first game starting time (6:30pm) so I was lucky in a sense for sleeping in that I woke up with enough time still to get there without player's noticing the difference. I did explain what happened but I don't think the manager on duty really cared. My cat is like my kid though. He's my family here. If he'd hobbled in at 5:30pm, I probably would have called work and said "I'm really sorry but...". So, That's that.

Speaking of Sleep I should go get some since I need to get up and go to the bank right away.

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com