Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2002-09-11 - 5:17 a.m.

9/11

Well, It's 5am on September 11th.

It's a day North America (and who knows where else) stood still. We were knocked on our asses by a catastrophic event. A Horrific Human Tragedy. Played out like a scene from an action movie the events of that day one year ago stunned us.

Here we stand a year later. I'm still blown away by it all. It's not something I will forget anytime soon.

But the Media. Oh my god, How sick. I think a nice 2 hour program on the event would be good but ALL day coverage? It makes me ill. I've already watched the towers fall over and over again in advertisements for this "special" programming. I'm ill thinking how many times they'll repeat the footage in a 24 hour span. It's just wrong.

Now don't get me wrong. This was a terrible event. Something we should never forget about but there has to be a line. Is this coverage going to be commercial free? I highly doubt it. Did the networks give the ad time away for free. I supremely doubt that. So what the network think they have is a captive audience. Sell, Sell, Sell. That just makes me ill. The motivation isn't helping us heal, It's getting us to buy the products that their sponsers want us to buy.

It's just my opinion it's too much. I don't want to forget but I also don't want to be punched in the gut repeatedly eiher.

I didn't lose anyone directly or even mildly indirectly but it still effected me. I was relieved to read a number of people saying they wouldn't be watching much TV today. It makes me feel that I'm not alone in my opinion that it's a bit much for many different reasons.

I think it would be so much better if you just did one small act of kindness today. Perhaps, smile at a stranger and say hello. Call up a friend you haven't talk to in awhile and tell them you still love them and care about their lives. Hug a Loved One. Kiss your spouse. Spend time with your kids. Or just shut the TV off and go to your favourite place outside and enjoy it.

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com