Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2002-10-24 - 8:13 p.m.

A Round Trip

For those keeping score via the Bingoguy Home Game we are currently at Saturday on my weekend out of town.

So, Saturday.

I got up at 7am without an alarm and called Peter to confirm my plans. He wasn't feeling well so he didn't answer the phone and I got his voice mail. He called back though and he said he picked me up in front of the hotel and we'd go for Breakfast.

Carrie and I checked out and we said goodbye. I went to a nearby Starbucks to kill time since it was going to be about an hour until he got there. I sat back and read the enitre issue of "Entertainment Weekly". They've got lots of coverage on the new fall season and since I don't watch TV that's rather interesting since I have no idea what the shows are actually like.

I enjoyed a Venti Mocha as I read the magazine away and many people came and went around me since I was sitting there for a good 45 minutes. I then got up and wandered back to the front of the hotel to wait for Peter.

He showed up and we drove away. He picked a Denny's nearby and we got a decent parking spot on the nearest side stret.

We entered the Denny's. I saw one of those stuffed animal machines that you use the claws to pick the toy out. Being extermely addicted to the one at work I had to stop and play this one. I didn't get anything. Probably a good thing since it would have looked a little strange to adult men and a stuffed animal having breakfast.

We had the most non-interested waiter I've had in a long time. No "How are you?" not even a "Kiss my ass, I hate serving you people" nothing. Maybe I expect too much out of my server.

We yapped a long time over breakfast. I told him about the minor disagreement that Carrie and I had the night before. (We had many but this one was amusing to me.) She was telling me you can't catch the flu from a flu shot. And my point was if you're body is fighting off something else and you inject yourself with a virus (even a small amount like a flu vaccine.) you could potential you could get sick. She was telling me that her doctor had told her it was a non-contagious version of the flu. Which stunned me, because it's a virus. A virus is a virus but she wasn't having any of it and went so far as to interupt me before I could even explain my point. But I had to listen to hers. I hate people who have an opinion about something but won't at least let you say your different opinon. I love people who have opinions contrary to my own they make me think when I discuss a topic. It's boring to talk to someone who ALWAYS agrees with you.

Anyway, We finished up breakfast and we walked back to the car. We got in and we were sitting there. Peter started reaching across into the glovebox and started looking for something. He eventually told me he left his lights on and the battery was dead. He didn't have his BCAA card and I had let my membership expire last year. So we were stuck. I tried turning everything off electrical and giving it a little bit. (It's a little Geo Metro, those 3 cyl cards need very little battery power to turn over.) But that didn't work. The upside was he has a manual transmission. So I suggested we jump start it with a rolling start. The problem? We were on the wrong side of the street for the downgrade. It wasn't a big grade but when you are pushing a car it makes big difference. But being the guy I am. I tried anyway. I was exhausted in a few feet but we'd pushed it far enough up the street that there was a spot to turn it around and use the downgrade. A Stranger came along and gave us a hand. So we spun it around and started pushing it down the steet. Just as we were getting up to speed my legs went all rubbery. I thought I was gonna fall over so I slowed my running and yelled at Peter to pop the clutch. The Car started and I turned and shook the guys hand that helped us out. I then jumped into the passenger seat.

I was completely out of breath. I was explaining to Peter he should keep the car revving a little higher than normal so that the battery charged up. But I was still having trouble catching my breath. I was sweating. I rolled the window down and tried sticking the top of my head out the window just to cool myself off. I was feeling really nausead now. I laid my head back in the seat. I even tried covering my mouth with my hands and tried breathing like that. (I had an idea I might be hyperventalting a bit.) Anyway, as I sat there I felt my hands start to go numb. I could feel my feet and legs doing the same. I told Peter that this wasn't a good sign. The motion of the car was making me ill too and I never get car sick. When my face started to go numb I told Peter he better get me to an emergency ward cause I might be having a heart attack or a stroke.

Having heard the story about my cousin boyfriend having a stroke at 27 and knowing how out of shape I am, I figured going to the emergency wasn't a bad idea. Better safe than sorry.

Peter told me what hospital he was going and I had to laugh. He was taking me to the hospital I had been born at. How fitting. I was going to die in the same hospital I was born at and at that the day before my birthday. Yep, 33 complete years and no more. Ok, I'm morbid yes I am.

I walked into the Emergency and Peter went to park the car. I wanted him to stick around just incase he had to call my parents. I was really out of it when I wandered into the emergency waiting room I managed to tell one of the staff that I thought i was having a stroke and he hooked me up immediately to a heart monitor (I read the screen and saw I was beating at 98 per minute). He was telling me I had to control my breathing. Anyway, I was feeling really nausead and told him so and he handed me a little tray. I promptly tossed my breakfast.

He gave me a few minutes and then filled out some info on me and then sent me to the desks to check in. I then sat in the waiting room with my numb hands and feet. An Intern Doc came over and called me and we went and chatted about what happened. They got a bed for me and he examined me and was telling me he usually doesn't get ahead of the nurses. By the time the Nurse got to me he had decided I just hypervenalted and that the story about my cousin boyfriend probably didn't help matters. The nurse did a couple things and then they released me.

I think I may have had a mild heart attack because riding in Peter's car made me nauseaed again and then riding public transit back to my parents place was the same lovely experience. I managed to do all that without tossing my cookies again.

When I got home I laid on my parents loveseat and they were just about to have dinner. I did explain to my mom what happened but she went ahead and served me dinner. I told her I felt like throwing up not adding to it. So I wandered up stairs and passed out on the mattress that was in my old bedroom. I put the blanket over my head and that seemed to help. Darker and a little less oxygen. lol. I slept for a couple hours. I got up and gathered my stuff. I had to make sure I left town at a certain time cause I wanted to meet up with Veronica so I could give her a lift home once I got back to my own car back in our town.

But Veronica wasn't there. I was quite surprised. She had phoned my cell either. So I was worried but I made my way home. I thought about calling her parents just incase they'd heard from her but I actually didn't want to worry them. I figured something had come up. She didn't have to back in town until Monday morning anyway. So She still had Sunday. I thought things were going well with her and the ex that she'd decided to stay one more day.

I slept on the trip home. When I got back to my car I decided I was feeling a touch better and drove through a drive thru just so I could put something in my gut. It did manage to stay down and I got home and went to bed since I had to work in the morning.

What a lovely way to end my vacation.

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com