Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-02-19 - 7:12 a.m.

Animals

I got to thinking after Uncle Bob posted an entry talking about having to put his pet Maggie down. I've strangely had very little pet death to deal with directly. You wouldn't know how strange that statement is unless you'd knew I've had a total of 9 pets (5 dogs and 4 cats) in my brief 33 year career as a human being.

At the time I am writing this 4 of those animals are dead (or I would presume so). The reason I haven't had to deal with pet deaths is because I haven't been around for them.

My first Cat, Morris. He died many eons ago when I was a kid. Hit by a car. A kid that lived across the street came across the body in his yard and I just happened to stop by that day to visit.

There was Patty. She was Lisa and I's Welsh Corgi. She had the unfortunate fate of being over at Lisa's Dad's (We often swapped animals around in those days) when a tenant on his lower lot got pissed off and on his hurried drive out off the property "accidently" drove over Patty. She was still alive after the incident but Lisa's Dad decided she was too badly damaged and finished the job off by shooting her. (He lives in the country, ok?)

Misty aka Mistress. She was a Cat that Lisa and I took in from friends of Lisa's family. She wasn't a very friendly cat in the slightest. She wasn't too happy to move from where she'd been and she let be known. She'd been an indoor/outdoor cat and so we let her out. This wasn't a big deal since "Flash" is one as well. Of course, Flash was used to the city traffic around our place (scared of it more likely) but Misty wasn't accustomed to it. She died crossing the street not 2 minutes from our house. We didn't know what happened until the SPCA called us (two weeks later) because she had a collar on. Even though she wasn't friendly it was a sad way to go.

In our Animal Swappin' Days (uh.. that's sick how could you think that?!), We used to end up with Lisa Dad's Dog, Bruno. What an awesome dog. I don't know what happened to Bruno because he was still alive when Lisa and I parted company. What I do know is he was 18 or 19 at the time. Which if you know dogs is VERY VERY old. He'd defintely started going senile just around that time. Anyway, I can't imagine he lived much longer after that whether he died of old age or Lisa's Dad finally put him down. He was the best tempermented and intelligent dog I have met to date. I loved Bruno (or as Lisa called him Brunnie). I spent hours going to park and on walks with him when he was in my possession. And I miss him but having not had to deal with his death I've got nothing but the most pleasant memories of him.

As far as I know the rest of the animals are still alive. There's 3 dogs Anja & Willie that now reside with Lisa's Dad. Teisha who Lisa gave away to a little old lady because I couldn't manage at the time to keep her. (There's an entry somewhere about this)

I've got Flash (who will turns 9 in April!) and then Minnie who I got from Veronica.

Out of the Dogs, It sucks not to know where Teisha is specifically. Cause she was still fairly young when Lisa gave her away. She's about a year younger than Flash and another dog I spent a lot of time with when I had her.

I can't tell ya what it will do to me when Flash decides to move on to greener pastures. He spent most of this entry in my lap pushing my while I typed trying to get me to pet him. As anooying as it is I just type around his head. Cause that's Flash. He's almost too big for my lap these days but he's always welcome there (As long as he keeps the claws in when lays down and grabs my knee. Ouch)

So this entry had no flow and no real point other than to say death of pets suck and I've been fortunate (?) not to have had to deal with it directly.

I did make a comment on Uncle Bob's message board about the fact we can logically understand when it's time to put an animal down because it's unfair to let it suffer. Yet, When a Human wants to die with dignity with get all high and mighty and tell them they aren't allowed to and they have to bear it out until the nitty gritty. Was there any doubt our humanistic logic is flawed? Well, that's for another entry at another time. Sorry to have bored you.

To Morris, Patty, Misty and Bruno, I hope your all playing nice in animal heaven cause I miss all of ya.

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com