Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-11-21 - 10:04 a.m.

Adventures in Dryerland...

[AKA Going On An Adventure Part Two]

[For those of you, who didn't catch Part One or for people who enjoy someone who rambles before getting to the point you can read ithere.]

I stood there in front of the "Squealling Dryer of Death" trying to decide what it would take to bring my dryer from the garage to where I was standing and how to get the "Squealler" out of the way.

It's forunate for me that the problem is the dryer because dryers, as opposed to washing machines, are rather lightweight.

I got my shoes and put them on and headed out to the garage. There in the corner of the garage, covered in some tools that The Absent Roommate used to build a new doorframe to his room, stood my washer and dryer. I carefully placed all the tools that were sitting on my dryer onto the washer and then began sliding the dryer across the garage to the door.

Here was my first big test. There were two steps to get the dryer into the door. I opened the door and looked for something to prop the door open with. I spyed one of The Kid's shoes. It's amazing how a five years old shoe fits perfect underneath the crack of this door acting as the very efficient and most noteably out of the way doorjam. I then stepped back into the garage and contemplate my next move.

First, I tilted the dryer up and propped it up on to the first step. This would have worked fine had I had a second person to help me lift the dryer to the second step and into the door. So, I tilted the dryer back down against the first step and slide the dryer up to the second step and into the doorway. It worked a lot easier than I thought it might. I was able from there to rock and step the dryer through the doorway. (I was so glad I didn't have to take off the door)

Once I had it on the same floor level as the laundry room, I was laughing. Although I still had to go through another doorway at the end of the hall. Once again, I faired well without having to remove the door. It fit in nicely just before the doorhandle and I was able to then side step it and then push it past the handle.

Once in the laundry room I unplugged the "Squealler" and slide it across the room. I decided while I had everything out of the way I'd look at replacing the vent hose. This particular vent hose goes down into the floor. I undid the cover around the hose only to find it's impossible to replace the vent hose. Because it's underneath the floor. I could fill an entire entry on why THAT is completely retarded but let me not digress.

Having decided replacing the old vent hose was impossible I moved on to looking at how the hose was attached on the back. One of those pieces of metal you squeeze on to release and let go to tighten. Except it had seen a better day. Fortunately, I brought my vent hose with me and on it proper "O" rings that you can tighten with a standard screwdriver. I put tighten that on to the back of my dryer and climbed out from behind the dryer. Plugged in it and smiled.

Before I got to into my accomplishment I had to reverse the whole proceedure with the "Squealer". Since this dryer is noticeably smaller dryer than mine it was a breeze to get back into that garage. Although, it's feet are probably not right as it complained and squealed again as I pushed it along the floor into the place where my dryer had been stored before.

I went back into the house, washed my hands. Then opened the washer and took out the wet towels and tossed them into my dryer. Set the timer and on it went. It's near silence. You have no idea how relaxing and satisfying the quiet hum of a dryer doing it's job is. I should know too, because that's what I'm listening to as I type.

I'm going to enjoy doing laundry today.

[BG : No, I won't come and do your laundry.]

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com