Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-11-21 - 9:32 a.m.

Going On An Adventure...

Today, I had an adventure.

Yes, really, an adventure and all this before 10am in the morning. That's highly unusual for me since normally I don't really become useful to the world until at least 10am everyday.

It's an amazing what being on vacation from work for a week can do to you. I've been terribly domestic. Which really is how I got involved in this adventure to begin with. Although, I was unaware of it at the time my adventure really began sometimes late last night before I went to bed.

See, I've been trying to catch up on the laundry around the house. I know that doesn't sound like an adventure, more like a prison sentence but bear with me I'm headed somewhere with this. Catching up on the laundry means doing a number of loads of wash and an equal amount of loads of drying. I'm sure this isn't rocket science to you but once again bear with me I'm headed somewhere.

Now, one has to keep in mind I'm living in the house that my absent roommate is intent on buying. So, in this place the absent roommate already has a washer and dryer. For those of you who have been followin my diary for awhile and for the benefit of you who have mistakenly clicked on my diary looking for "Used Boxerbriefs", I'd like to remind you that I owned my own washer and dryer in my last place so they came with me and are sitting out in the garage.

The Absent Roommate and myself had a conversation when I moved in if I felt so inclined to put my washer and dryer (bigger and newer) in place and move his out to the garage I could do that. He didn't have a problem with that. But, It was my opinion that if his washer and dryer were already hooked up and could do the job switching them was really an excersize in futility. Which brings us to my adventure this morning.

Did I mention I was trying to catch up on my laundry? Oh yes, I already did. Well, let me not repeat myself. Anyway, Last night I was switching the loads of laundry and bringing the dryed clothes up to The Chick to fold (Yeah, I don't know how to fold but I can sort and wash) and I threw the wet clothes in now empty dryer. I turned the dryer on and it began it's usual squeal. Oh yes, I forgot to mention, The Absent Roommate's dryer squeeks and squeals. It probably does this because the motor is old and the bearings in it are going. Since I'm not an appliance repairman, I've tried to overlook this problem since I've been here.

I came up stairs with the laundry for folding and The Chick asked if I thought the squealling of the dryer was getting worse. I had to agree it was definiately getting pretty sad. Having agreed upon the observation we said nothing more about it.

At this point it's kind of interesting to point how women mention a problem, get your opinion, then say nothing more about it. Why is that? Well, because they aren't planning on dealing with the topic. They are quietly expecting you (in this case me, The "Man of the House") to find a solution to the problem. It's well known fact that men are "fixers" so bring up something that need a solution and well, we'll fix it.

Which really brings me to this morning. I kissed The Chick and hugged The Kid and sent them off to school this morning. I lackadaisically flipped the channels on the TV but not being much of a TV viewer I was bored in no time (Although I managed to stop and watch the hockey highlights). This boredom lead me downstairs. Now, I'll admit I fully intended to first sit down here at the computer and do a little surfing perhaps read a few diaries or something of the sort but I didn't. I decided to take the towels out of the washer and put them in the dryer.

It was at about this point, I was cringing at the thought of sitting at the computer while the dryer squealled and squealled beside me. (Yeah, My computer is setup in the basement and The Chick is set up upstairs. She says this is fitting.) I decided before I put the towels in I'd pull the dryer out and see if I could figure out how to get at the motor.

In pulling the dryer out, I pulled the vent hose off the back of the dryer which annoyed me. Although it meant I didn't have to climb back there and disconnect it first. I pulled the dryer the rest of the way out and climbed behind it. There was no simple way into the motor (at least not with the tools I own) so this put the idea of oiling the motor up out of the question.

I sat on my haunches behind the dryer thinking the thought I have every time I turn on the dryer as it starts that "nails against the chalkboard" squeal. I thought "I have an almost brand new dryer sitting in the garage that doesn't squeal".

And so began my adventure...

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com