Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2005-02-06 - 10:31 p.m.

You Gotta Fight For Your Right...

to MASTURBATE in front of open windows in your own home! Only in Canada you say?! Pity.

It strikes me as amusing the people watched him from their darkened bedroom for 15 minutes before they phoned the police. Stop and watch something for 15 minutes and then add in the fact this is supposed to be someone masturbating in an open window. That's a LOOOOOOONG time. Then you add the fact they tried to video tape him. "Damn, Martha, How do you work this contraption?"


Update From Last ENTRY:

Sparkler does, in fact, follow her refers and I recieved an email from her because her comment to me got truncated and she wanted to make sure I got the full text. So Here goes...

Hi there -


My comment got truncated since I'm a chatty one tonight.


Here is the full text:


Hi! Nice to meet you.


I can understand your point. I think experience is essential - particularly in situations that demand complex decision making. The ability to make good choices only comes with experience. However, I wasn't talking about performance; I was talking about career progression. I still maintain that education is a benefit to careers. That may be function of my vantage point - I've worked for Fortune 100 companies and a consulting practice. Smaller companies have different cultures of credentialism.


When we select a candidate we need to justify the salary offer to match internal equity - basically how does that person fit on the wage curve. Having extra pieces of paper allows us to make a much higher offer. I know how my own salary was calculated and degrees/certifications had a large impact. I'd much rather be able to pay a candidate at the top of the market, because I think it helps to attract and retain the best people. There is an appreciable ROI on certifications and degrees.


We wouldn't hire someone without years of experience. We look for a combination of experience, recommendations, education and certifications. Another thing we look for is soft skills - in all likelihood this person will need to answer to senior leadership. Fumbling in interview situations is a problem.


I appreciate your argument, and in many ways I agree. Still, I'd encourage anyone to keep going back to school, keep learning new technologies and techniques.


You can add it or not as you see fit.


All the best.

[Sparkler]

I responded to her to let her know I would definitely post her response to my ranting. Although, I felt that debating the issue was probably silly as it had more to do with company policies and personal preferences in hiring style.

It's probably just me but the tone of her email still reads like she talking "down" to me but it really doesn't matter.

I thought I'd also point out I was going to end the rant with the sentence "Just go ask Outfoxed." because I kind of knew his opinion about Degrees Vs. Practical Experience. Instead I emailed him and opened the flood gates of his own rant which you can find HERE. His Rant (which he openly blames on me.) more eloquently expresses the same idea I was trying to get across.

Having Pointed Out all of this regarding my rant, I put the issue to bed.


I'm giggly like a little school girl and give a free dabber to JWalker who added me as a favourite and you can find making entries as Gilgongo HERE.

Did you need anymore reason to be convinced I'm a 12% Beermate Wanna-be?!


"Don't be cute
Don't be funny now
It's later than you think
Oh, what's the use
Save your money now
It's hanging on the brink"

Jeopardy - Greg Kihn Band

|

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com