Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-05-03 - 3:06 p.m.

Caveat Sygkrafeas

Online Journals. It's all about balance.

Although, I haven't been writing one for a very long time. I started in November of 2001, if memory serves me. Which is a short span of time I think comapred to others out there.

Today, in my wanderings I heard of yet another two diaries coming to an end. They almost always come to a sudden end for very similiar reasons everytime.

Those reasons are almost always offending or being exposed by people you actually know. But, Generally it's your "real" life seeping into your online journal. The "Real" life that one writes about in a journal/diary.

I think Outfoxed said it best while commenting about a deleted diary. "Now she�s gone, and it�s just another reminder to me that life laid bare can be a hurtful thing."

He's right. If you pull no punches from your own point of view a few of those punches are gonna land on somebodies chin and I am pretty sure nobody likes to be punched in the face.

Writing in an online diary is about convienience and connection. It's convienent to do it online. It's instant. The connection is that others are doing the same thing and we can read and relate and realize we're all pretty much the same just at different points and places.

Writing in an Online Journal is also about making decisions as to your direction. You have to realize that when writing in an Open Forum such as the internet you have to remember that some people aren't interested in having the chunks of their lives that touch our lives revealed to the world. Call them Selfish but some people are just like that. Sometimes the reflection of a person can look really bad from where you are standing (Sometimes deservingly so, sometimes not.) It all depends on the mood of the writer at the time.

It's why I use pseudonyms. It's why I don't reveal exact details about my life. Sometimes you just have to know where to censor yourself. Sometimes, it's about protecting yourself moreso than protecting the people you are writing about.

Of course, if you want to write about everything then the chances that you can write entirely honestly about everything is simply a logistical nightmare.

I relate and understand these concept via my day to day job.

I spend my entire day being people's entertainment, as boring as a bingo caller may be, but it's still true. I spend my day announcing to these people. I attempt to break up the montony by being entertaining/humorous. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. But there is one rule I don't ever forget. No matter how hard you try you can't please everyone. You're going to offend someone somehow just because they don't see things the same way you do. No matter how hard you try and explain it they won't get it. They probably don't want to get it either.

So, Writer Beware (Caveat sygkrafeas). As your online journal gains more popularity it comes with the same price that any popularity/fame comes with. You're life is open to scrunity and to others opinions and also in the case of an online journal exposure to the cast of characters you write about.

So.. Seeya later, TranceJen

and Unclaimed

I barely knew ya.

[Note: I wrote this entry more as reminder to myself than to be making any particular statements so don't get your panties in a knot.]

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com