Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2005-04-27 - 5:13 a.m.

I Won't Always Be Sad

It's very early Wednesday morning. I've been off work now for over a week and not due to return until the beginning of May. I guess I should be thankful that I had a bunch of unbooked holiday time and I took advanrage of it.

I can't say I've done anything overly spectacular with the time. I've been really just taking it easy and doing things to distract myself. Mostly Poker because it sucks me in and I don't think about much else.

It's strange how my sleep patterns have slowly adjusted back to a normal life. I've been wiped right out by 11pm or 11:30pm at the latest. I've probably been sleeping exactly 8 hours at night and so that makes me rise a lot earlier. I can't say it bothers me any it's kind of nice in a way.

It's also been a week since my dad died. [Long Pause Here Thinking]. I think the biggest trouble I've had was I really wasn't ready. I am not totally shocked I was just taken off guard.

With my mom I had to hear and watch her go downhill and the progression was obvious. It's something you hate to see but you can prepare yourself. In the end it's almost relief for everyone involved, most of all the person who is passing. When it's very sudden you just don't have the time to get ready for it. That's what I'm dealing with now.

My Dad and I were never that close. (Long Time Readers will be familiar with some of this background). Too much of the same material inside. You couldn't keep the two of us in the same room for any extended period of time without annoying one another. I think we both could see our faults so clearly since we shared so many of them that it was always embers for the roaring fire that was any disagreement we had.

I have confession to make and I never got to say it to my dad and that'll probably be the biggest regret of my life. My dad was my hero. I know this probably not a big revelation to those of you men who are really close with your old man but it is to me. As cynical and assholish as he could be I still thought so highly of him just because he was my dad.

I think that's where part of my anger towards him came from. I spent the majority of my life never being able to live up to, or perhaps felt, his expectations of me were. He often chastized me and said I would never amount to much. When your hero in life tells you think like that it devastates you beyond measure. I have to note that after taking the position I have now those types of comments seemed to stop. I have to believe that this means I final did amount to something even if it wasn't what he expected.

I'm sad that I didn't get to tell him that he actually did mean something to me. I'm sad that I never got to say goodbye. I've tried to wonder to myself what his final morning was like. I know I shouldn't do that but I do. There's so many questions when you aren't given a chance for closure. Questions you never do really get answers to. You can only take your best guess.

35 seems way too young to lose both your parents and at that both parents with just over a year.

His Memorial his next week, I'll do my best to say goodbye and remember all the good things that he brought to life.

Thanks to all of you who left messages, comments, emails and/or talked to me on Instant Message. I know how tough it is to express sympathy for people. Just be assured that I do appreciate it. So Thanks again for taking the time.

"Cause love's such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care for
The people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way of
Caring about ourselves
This is our last dance
This is our last dance
This is ourselves
Under pressure"
"Under Pressure" - Queen

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com