Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-07-15 - 11:58 a.m.

Why Girls Are HOT!

There are certain events and situations in life that sometimes remind you that you are getting older. I had such an event the other day.

The Chick and I were getting ready to go out of town. Samanatha had mentioned to me that she wanted a book to read for the trip. I had actually had a book in mind I wanted to get for her. So we headed off to Ch@pters.

The thing I've noticed about these huge book store retailers is they look a lot like libraries. I am sure this isn't some great revelation but that's what I think when I go to them.

In the old days of bookstores, you could probably browse the whole place quickly in 5 or so minutes. That would enable you to find what you were looking for without having to ask for help. You can't do that in these new places unless you've got an hour or two. Convieniently, This store has computers you can use to look up a book and find out where to look for it. So, I headed for a computer to go look it up. Unfortunately for me, thier computer system was down. Of course, this meant I stood their in front of the computer for about 15 seconds lookin like a dork. You know when you use someone else computer and they've got some special way to bring it out of sleep mode or some such nonsense. After fiddling with the first computer for a few second I looked at the next one and figured they were down. Once I found an employee, not always an easy task in the huge box stores, she indeed confirmed the computer search system was down.

The employee was able to use what looked an ugly inventory control program to look up the book I was wanting. When I say the inventory control program was UGLY, I'm not exagrating. While she was looking up the book for me all I could think was "Holy Shit, That program looks like it was written in 1983." Obviously they've had to use this program various times cause she moved around in it quite proficently, which is shocking for the "point and click" generation.

Anyway, Before I go meandering off like a river, the book I was looking for was "Why Girls Are Wierd" by Pamela Ribon. Pamela as you may or may not know is an online journaler.

The book itself is about a fictional online journaler but uses many of Pamela's entries from her original online journal. I thought The Chick would probably find this book of interest.

I doing really well so far picking out book for The Chick. Although, I admit the first one I did purely by accident. It's the book I'm currently reading which is "Prozac Nation" by Elizabeth Wurtzel. I'm, of course, the slowest reader in the world so I was still reading yet another book and hadn't gotten to it yet. Which gave Samantha a chance to read it before me. She loved it. So, I figured she might also like Pamela's book.

I flipped through the book a little bit as we walked away from the shelves where we guided to. On the inside back cover was a picture of the author. I think I took a double take a bit. She's one good looking woman. That's when I thought to myself. "That's strange, When did Book Author's become so good looking?"

I think I'd had some form of thinking that said people who write books are old and scary. Unfortunately for me, somewhere along the way *I* have become the scary old person and people in their twenties are now publishing books.

[Note to Pam: It's ok, I live in Canada you live in California, I won't be able to stalk you anytime soon.]

While we were there I wanted to find another one of Wurtzel's books "Bitch" another book I thought might interest The Chick. Now, I might want to remind you that the computer system that normal people could use was down. I had to ask this lovely young woman where I might find this book. She asked me the title to which, of course, I responded "Bitch!". The girl look stunned at me. I laughed, "The book's title is named Bitch. She then laughed herself and then looked it up. They didn't have it in but now I know you can find "Bitch" in Woman's Studies. There's a pun in there somewhere.

Anyway, I went and purchased Pamela's book and The Chick wandered off to the in store St@rbucks.

Once I'd paid for the book I headed over to find her. I found her standing in line doing what women do best. She was staring at some Belgium Choclate Cake. I knew what she was thinking "Oh my god, that looks tasty, but I could do without it." Like any woman, she's concerned about her weight and she's also been losing wieght of late. [Insert Appropriate Supportive Applause here.] Of course, I wandered over to the display case and said "You were looking at the Beligum Chocloate Cake weren't you? That does look really good actually best not to have it though cause it'll go STRAIGHT TO MY ASS!"

Now you have to realize I'm six feet tall and I'm lucky if I'm 140 lbs on a good day. So, when I said this, the girl who was behind the counter almost dropped dead. I have a rather odd sense of humour BUT dammit I LOVE ME.

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com