Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2003-12-05 - 2:24 a.m.

Calling My Balls

Yeah, I wanted to answer a entry put in my guestbook by no other than the very S-E-X-Y Fuzzy Grey

"Out of curiosity..... while you're calling numbers, do you ever do anything funky like, "My favorite vitamin, B-12." or "I swear officer, I-21." or "Oh, Oh, OOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH 69"??? Cause that would be really.......REALLY funny if you did."

This is actually quite a common question asked of me. I think it's because people can't quite fathom that I actually do this as my paid profession. Followed closely by the thought I do this for more than minimum wage and almost always have.

Anyway, About the calling... the answer is No. I don't. Not that this doesn't happen in some smaller halls around your town but I work in the "Commercial" Hall type. This means we're open 7 days a week and the type of player that comes here is more serious type gambler. They like to have a good time but the little cutesy names to each number just don't cut it with these people. These are the same people that bang thier daubers (you says daubers... I say dabbers...) over certain numbers not in play during certain games.

Bingo Callers are weird ducks. Really. Not just anyone can do this job. You really have to be a very patient person and you really can't let a crowd of people get to you. Strangely, I don't consider myself that patient a person but then part of my "personality" as a caller is the fact I'm the straight shooter type. I say it as I see it. A Cell phone rings in the middle of one of the games and I'll say whatever everyone else is thinking "You can turn THAT off anytime you like" and I get away with it because that's my personality and the players appreciate me for it. But then again, I'm 18 years plus veteren of Bingo Calling.

Ya, So Legs 11, Not After but B-4, Pair of Ducks (quack, quack) I 22. [Added Later I can't believe I forgot my favourite one. Clickity Click, O 66. Which always reminded me of that children's cartoon Barbapapa. "Clickity Click Barba Trick". If you have no idea what I am talking about I'll have to answer that at another time.] I actually found a site (I believe it was european with all the saying that go with each number. Couple of Fat Ladies 88. (In Europe they use 90 balls, We use 75 here in North America. Why? Good question.) They also scream "Housey, Housey" in Europe because the word "Bingo" was outlawed at one point way back in history.

I've totally gone off in a different direction answering a simple question. For those 3 people that read me everyday they're used to it though.

--

4:13AM

I was just perusing some diaries and wandered over to Emily's diary and then from their went to her Blog.

Where I found her list of Unconscious Mutterings for this week. I like this stuff once in awhile so here I go :

  1. Scrooge:: Canadian Tire (Give Like Santa, Save Like Scrooge)
  2. Ribbon:: Hair
  3. Physical:: Sweat
  4. Income:: Lack
  5. Dream:: Clouds
  6. Notebook:: Pen
  7. Disney:: Movies
  8. Combo:: Chinese
  9. Booty:: Big!
  10. Skin:: Beauty

Interesting...

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com