Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2002-01-05 - 7:26 p.m.

Late For Work

Today I wasn't as lucky as I was the day before. Still trying to adjust my hours from staying up way too late on New Years. I went to bed around 4am after talking to a friend on ICQ about a whole lot of nothing. I thought my alarm was set. I was wrong. I woke up and looked at my watch. 10 am. 10 AM !?!?! Guess what time I am supposed to start work. You guessed it 10 am. Well, I leaped up and was trying to find my cell phone because I have my work number cataloged in it. I couldn't find my cell phone. This had more to do with the fact I didn't have my glasses on. So I went back in my bedroom and got my glasses. I still couldn't find my cell phone until I picked up the phone book to look at my number. Underneath the phone book. LOOK! Cell Phone. So Indexed the number and picked up my land line. (Not gonna use up minutes to call work.) I let them know I wouldn't be there until about 10:30. Which is about the precise moment I supposed to start calling out bingo numbers. Perhaps your not a bingo player. I'll explain this to you. This is like going to a Britney Spears concert and Britney forgets to show up. Not much of a show. Not there's a lot of skill required to actually sit and call out numbers painted onto ping pong balls. The problem is because of technology all the equipment I use is computerized. Not only that for the electronic system you need "Caller" account and password to even log on the terminal that puts the numbers on the electronic player terminals.

So, my sleeping in is equivilant to a catastrophe. There's only two other people in the building that can cause that kind of problem. One is the opening manager (Hard to play bingo if you can't get in the building.) and the Event Co-ordinator who is the person the figures out all the sales, prize payouts etc. (Another extremely computerized account and password protected position).

Anyway, I arrived 10:30am. Got right down to business and all was well. I'm sure when the General Manager hears about it. (We crossed paths today at the end of my shift but she was busy were the Regional Manager) I'll hear about it for sure.

For the players, I arrived at the "No Harm, No Foul" time of the day so they were actually making fun of me and not pissed off. Which can happen in a difference of a minute had I shown up at 10:31am. And Lord say "Sad is the day, when the bingo caller arrives late and delay the playing of bingo for the elders of his township".

So now you're wondering to yourself. "Bingoguy, What the heck do you do between 10am and 10:30am on a normal day when you show up on time?" The Answer to that is simple. I drink coffee and BS with my co-workers. Actually, it's the time when I do minor maitenance things to the machine etc. But that's only requires my attention maybe once a week. Ahh.. It's nice to get paid for 30 minutes to drink coffee also paid for by the company. My job is starting to look very attractive isn't it? 30 minutes of paid non-work in the morning and an HOUR at night. Yes, if you have heard me mention it before, on a night shift I get paid to 1am. I am usually finished calling the final session of the day by 11:45pm. I then changed jackpot signs which after waiting for the manager to tally the contribution figures brings me to walking out the door at Midnight. Thus my drive home, my walking in the door and undressing to comfy sleep clothes and sometimes even sitting here writing a diary entry or reading my email. All paid for by the company I work for. Up to 1am, of course.

Did I mention I have medical and dental?

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com