Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Private Entries
Password Required

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Bingoguy's 5 Songs of the Moment

Rolling In The Deep - Adele
Dominos - The Big Pink
Sunlight - Tune-Yards
Them That Do Nothing - Field Music
House of Cards - Radiohead

RECENT COMMENTS

Daily Reads

monitor
weetabix
unclebob
andrew
savecraig
shutupmom
joecartoon
ubergrrl
joyfulgirl21
Roadiepig
sixweasels
strangerlucy
wendyloo
porktornado
minderella
gofigure
mysymphony
gawain
ann-frank
tuff517
twelvebeer
fuzzy-grey
quoted
diaryquotes
miss-k2
golfwidow
nixtress
dishery
outfoxed
dangerspouse
juddhole
thedailywtf
anisettekiss
warped-one
dicentrah
emiline220
lintpickle
oddsfish
meeshapeesha
kungfukitten
discothekid
biensoul
ladeeleroy
juli-anne
wicked-sezzy
reynedecoupe


Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

2004-06-26 - 12:46 a.m.

Bling Bling! Hollywood Style

Sometimes I should really write myself notes, especially when it comes to remember what the heck it is I was going to write here. I make the common mistake of reading everyone's blogs/diaries/journals before ever embarking on entering my own entry. I think my illogical logic is that if I come across something interesting in someone else diary I'll either expound on it or comment about it or mention it. That rarely happens though. Most of the time I just forget what the hell it was I'd meant to write here.

Anyway, I remember suddenly I was going to comment that while I was down visiting The Chick I had some time to myself. During that time I got bored and started surfing the net. It was during that boredom that I decided to join The Hollywood Stock Exchange.

I originally heard about HSX via one of my various internet girlfriends and when I filled out the membership information I did my duty and admitted my ass had be pimped out by her.

It's actually a kind of neat concept. You are given $2,000,000. Hollywood Dollars to buy stock in movies & stars. There's also a few people that manage funds (of various varieties) that you can invest in too. Then basically you're competeing with everyone else on the site to make the most bling bling. (I can't believe this word has caught on a slang for money but sadly it has. Although it is mildly amusing to say. Go ahead, try it, I'll wait.)

So...

I haven't exactly made a ton of money yet since I just started a couple of days ago. My strategy is also one that is not going to see a massive rise in the near future. I'm trying to invest in project that are still in development and stars that haven't quite reached their pinacle yet. I'm also doing a some scouring to find established stars that might be currently underachiveing that I think are going to make a turn around in the next couple of years. I'm completely avoided investing anything that is being released right now or very soon. That has a lot to do with those particular stocks inflated prices.

When you get right down to it my philosphy/strategy is quite simple "Buy Low, Sell High."

To do that you have to invest in that which isn't successful yet but may very well be in the future. It's yet another form of gambling. Have you noticed a trend with me? I like to gamble. There's a real thrill to it. Although, I'm not really that big of risk taker since I don't do a lot of gambling with real BLING BLING just the fake stuff. It's safer that way.

If one were to attempt to be a successful gambler on a regular basis you need to know one hard and fast rule. "It takes money to make money" Which really translates to the lay person as "If you haven't got it to gamble, DON'T GAMBLE." but most people miss that whole step and that's where trouble comes in.

Anyway, Back to HSX.com, I've only invested about $30,000 of the original two million they gave me. I want to see how that goes before I start risking more of the initial seed. Which reminds me another part of it that doesn't mimic reality is the fact if you're doing really crappy they actually have a "Reset Account" option where you can start all over again.

Wouldn't that be nice if we had that option in day to day life? "Holy fuck, I screwed up my life. Oh well, I'll just RESET and start ALL OVER."

But, of course, life don't work that way.

Oh and if you're having a shitty day, take a look at THIS (Stolen via Dangerspouse) and be reminded someone else's day ended a lot worse than yours probably will.

Cheers.

P.S. If you do join HSX remember to say "Bingoguy" sent you.

***

Someone Arrived Here Searching for More Useless Everyday(tm)

I don't care what anyone else says, I trademarked that saying.

***

|

|

previous - next

The Last Five Bingo Games

Ripples - 2011-02-01
Checkmate - 2010-11-11
I Need Anger - 2010-10-15
I'd Like To Point Something Out - 2010-09-10
A Tempting Morsal - 2010-08-20

The Bingoguy Soundtrack
Last Updated : September 18th, 2004

Under The I - Blogger-Style
Updated : Probably More Often Than Here

Bingoguy Speaks - The Audio Entries
Last Updated : June 24th, 2004

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

r
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com